General Options

The General options determine the look and feel of the AutoMate Task Administrator on the local system. The system is installed with default settings that have been found to be commonly needed or used. You can change these settings to suit your own preference.

To Modify Task Administrator General Options:

  1. From the System menu in the Task Administrator window, go to Options and select the General tab..

    The General options tab is displayed (as shown below).

  1. Make your selections as follows:

Language:

Specifies what language the AutoMate interface and logging should use. By default, AutoMate uses the same language settings as the locale of your machine, if that language is supported by AutoMate (this is the System Default selection). You can select from any of AutoMate's currently supported languages: English, French, Spanish, German or Italian.

Double-clicking a task will:

Specifies what will happen if you double-click a task in the Task Administrator:

Remove task file on delete:

When a new managed task is created, AutoMate automatically stores the task steps on the system in an associated task file  When a managed task is deleted, the associated task file can optionally be left on the system to be used later by another managed task. This selections are:

Export blank task with broken link:

When exporting a task, the task steps are usually embedded within the exported managed task. A broken link is a managed task that cannot find it's associated task file. This can happen if the task file once associated with the managed task has been removed or deleted manually. This option sets whether AutoMate should allow the task to be exported with blank steps, or simply refuse to export the task. The selections are:

Use wizard when creating new tasks

If this is selected, AutoMate displays the Add Task Wizard when you click the New button on the toolbar or select New from the File menu. The Add Task Wizard provides a step-by-step means of creating a new AutoMate Managed Task. If this is not selected, AutoMate creates a task with a default name (usually "New Managed Task") with default properties. The task can then be further configured by opening its properties.

Confirm on managed task delete

If this is selected, AutoMate displays a confirmation dialog each time the user attempts to delete a Managed Task. If this is not selected, tasks are deleted immediately. Once a Managed Task is deleted, it cannot be recovered. The task can usually be reimported, however, if the task file associated with the managed task was left on the system. See Importing Tasks for more information.

Show full file path in filename column

If this is selected, the File column in the Task Administrator Details view (View menu, Details) displays the full path and file name for each task. If this is not selected, the File column displays only the file name. The File column is not visible by default, but can added to the display by selecting Columns from the View menu.

Show error window when Task Administrator Window is open

If a Managed Task fails at runtime and the Task Administrator is open, a dialog displaying information relevant to the error (such as the task name, step number, error, etc) will be displayed if this option is selected. Errors are always logged to the log file as set in Logging Options regardless of this option setting.

Play sound on task failure

When this option is selected, and a running task fails to run correctly while the Task Administrator is open, the sound file specified is played. The sound file must be a valid wav file. If this option is not selected, no sound is played.

New tasks use elevated privileges

In Windows Vista, when User Access Control (UAC) is enabled, a task requires administrator privileges in order to run. When this option is enabled, newly created tasks will automatically run with elevated privileges. (This parameter is disabled by default). It is recommended that this option is enable when using Windows Vista or newer operating systems.

See Also:

Task Administrator Quick Tour

Importing Tasks

Logging Options