Synchronize Folders Action—Setting Properties

The Synchronize Folders action is used to replicate folders. It can be run unidirectionally or bidirectionally. Files in the source folder that do not exist in the destination folder are copied to the destination. Source files that are newer than destination files, overwrite the destination files.

If run unidirectionally, this action can optionally delete destination files that do not match the source files, thus making the folder contents identical. If the action is run bi-directionally, the folder contents are identical at the end of the action.  

To set Synchronize Folders properties

  1. From the Task Builder Available Actions pane, open the File folder and double-click the Synchronize Folders action or drag it into the Steps pane.

  2. In the Folder 1 box, enter the path for the source folder, or click the Open Folder button and navigate to the folder.

  3. In the Folder 2 box, enter the path for the destination folder, or click the Open Folder button and navigate to the folder.

  4. If you want to do unidirectional synchronization, select Folder 1==> Folder 2. The default setting is bidirectional.

  5. Click the Advanced tab, and make your selections as follows:

  6. To set the Description tab properties, refer to Description Tab Options.

  7. To set the Error Causes and On Error tab properties, refer to Step Error Handling.

  8. When finished, click OK to save settings and close the properties dialog window.

See Also

About Actions

Adding Task Steps

Synchronize Folders Action