Workflow Management

The Workflows section of the SMC is similar to the Repository. It is essentially a repository for workflows. This section allows storage and management of workflows that have been previously created. Each time a workflow is created or built, it is saved to the SMC's Workflows section. Newly created tasks, processes and conditions added to this workflow are automatically saved in the SMC's Repository section in either the Tasks, Processes or Conditions folder. Storing workflows saves developers valuable time. In order to re-use, a workflow, they simply need to be called upon from the Workflow Repository rather than being re-created.

Accessing Workflow Objects from the Workflow Repository


The Workflow Repository is accessible from the Server Management Console (SMC) by clicking the Workflow tab in the lower part of the left window pane. A Workflows folder then appears in the upper left window pane and any sub-folders right below this folder. Clicking the Workflows folder or any existing sub-folders will populate the main window with the contained objects. The illustration above shows the Workflows folder selected, populating the main window with available workflows.

To access an existing workflow:

1. Click the Workflows tab in the SMC. The Workflow Repository appears categorized into a folder named Workflows:

2. Click the desired folder/sub-folder to expand that folder, showing its contents in the main window.

3. Select the desired workflow and click the Edit button or right-click the workflow and select Edit from the right-click menu to access its properties.

Creating New Workflows from the Workflow Repository


Users may prefer the option to create standalone workflows and add objects such as tasks, conditions and processes to them at a later time. For this reason, workflows can be created and edited directly from the Workflows section of the SMC rather than creating a workflow from the Workflow Designer.

To create a new workflow from the Workflow Repository:

  1. From the SMC, select the Workflows tab and click the Workflows folder.

  2. Click the New button. A new workflow object named New Workflow (or New Workflow (1) if a workflow named New Workflow already exists) will appear in the main window.

  3. Click the default workflow name or right-click and select Rename from the right-click menu to rename the workflow.

  4. Highlight the newly created workflow and click the Edit button or right-click and select Edit from the right-click menu to add objects to the workflow. This opens the Workflow Designer.  

  5. After adding objects to the workflow from the Workflow Designer, click Update all and exit (top/left corner of the WFD) to save changes and close the Workflow Designer window.

Note: A new workflow will not be saved to the repository unless it has been renamed or edited.

Other workflow Repository Operations


Various operations can be performed within the Repository. For instance, a user can manually run a task or process, view or edit an existing task or process, create multiple folders to better organize stored objects, permanently delete objects and much more.

To manually execute a workflow:

  1. From the SMC, select the Workflows folder to populate pre-existing workflows in the main view.

  2. Highlight the desired workflow and click the Run button or right-click the workflow and select Run from the right-click menu.

To view or edit an existing workflow from the Workflow Repository:

  1. From the SMC, select the Workflows tab and click the Workflows folder  to populate pre-existing workflows in the main view.

  2. Highlight the desired workflow and click the Edit button or right-click the workflow and select Edit from the menu that appears. This opens the Workflow Designer.

To create a folder and add workflow objects to it:

  1. Select the Workflows folder.

  2. Click the Create Folder button or right-click inside the main view and select New -> Folder from the right-click menu. This creates a new folder in the current view.

  3. To add objects to the folder, highlight the desired object(s) and drag them into the folder or right-click an object and select Cut then right-click the desired folder and select Paste.

To permanently delete an object of folder:

  1. Navigate to the section where the object or folder resides.

  2. Highlight the desired object/folder and click the Delete button or right-click the object and select Delete from the menu.

To rename a workflow or folder:

  1. Select the folder where the object resides.

  2. Highlight the desired object/sub-folder and click the More button and select Rename from the drop-down menu or right-click the object/folder and select Rename from the menu.

To view or manage the general properties of an object:

  1. Navigate to the section where the object or folder resides.

  2. Highlight the desired object and click the Properties button or right-click the object and select Properties from the menu that appears. The object's properties appear. For more details on object properties, see Default Properties.

To set security permissions on an object or folder:

  1. Navigate to the section where the object or folder resides.

  2. Highlight the desired object/folder and click the Properties button or right-click the object/folder and select Properties from the menu that appears. The object's properties appear.

  3. Double-click the Security icon. For more details regarding security permissions, see Item Permissions.

NOTE: In addition to the procedures mentioned above. clicking the More button or right-clicking an object will present other available options, such as Export, Import, Rename, Disable or Enable (to name a few).

See Also

Introduction to the Server Management Console

WorkFlow Designer Quick Tour

Repository Management

Object Properties

Importing Items to the Repository

Exporting Repository Objects