Creating and Managing User Groups

From the Users section of the SMC, clicking the User Groups folder will display the User Groups screen as shown below. A System User Group is created by default and its corresponding icon contains a lock to distinguish it from other User Groups. System User Groups are associated with call items and granted all permissions by default. It cannot be modified or deleted, but it can be added and removed from an item.

User Group Settings

User Groups can be added, modified or removed from the User Groups section. User Groups can be disabled or enabled from this section as well.

To add a new user group:

  1. From the User Groups folder, click the New button. A new icon appears named New User Group.

  2. Rename the new user group to the desired name.

To assign users to a group or modify an existing user group:

  1. From the User Groups folder, select the desired user group and click Edit or right-click the user group and select Edit from the right-click menu. A window titled Modify User Group appears, as shown below.

  1. To add one or more users, select the user(s) from the Available Users section and click the Add button. To select more than one user at a time, hold down the CTRL key while selecting.

  2.  To remove one or more users, select the user(s) from the Users in Group section and click the Remove button.

  3. After making appropriate adjustments, click Apply to save.

NOTE: The same user can be assigned to multiple groups.

To remove a user group:

  1. From the User Groups section, select the user group to remove and click the Delete button.

  2. Or simply right-click the user and select Delete from the right-click menu.

To disable/enable a user group:

  1. From the User Groups section, right-click the user group to disable and select Disable from the right-click menu. The corresponding user group icon becomes grayed out signifying that it has been disabled.

  2. To re-enable the user group, right-click the icon and select Enable.

 

General Properties

Each user group includes a set of general properties which allows you to view specific details, enter custom notes and assign permissions for that particular group. To access a user group's general properties, from the User Groups folder, select the desired group and click the Properties button or double-click the group. The general properties of that user group appears as shown below.

  1. To access a group's general properties and assign permissions, from the User Groups folder, double-click the group or right-click the group and select Properties from the right-click menu that appears. The group's general properties are displayed as shown below.

 

Details

The Details section displays various attributes about the user group. The following fields are included:

Field or Checkbox

Description

Name

The assigned name of the user

Created By

The user who created this specific user as indicated in the Users section of the SMC.

Created On

The date/time when the user was initially created.

Modified On

The date/time when the user's properties were last modified.

Version Date

The date corresponding to the a

Globally Enabled

Indicates whether or not the user is globally enabled. This option is enabled by default.

 

Notes

The Notes section provides a location where you can enter descriptive information or custom notes in regards to the specified user group. Notes entered will appear in various reports and other sections of the SMC.

Security

The Security section allows you to set permissions for existing users or user groups on this item. For more details, see Item Permissions.

Seel Also

Users

User Groups

Creating and Managing Users