Add Workflow Wizard

Overview

The Add Workflow Wizard assists developers by guiding them through the process of creating a workflow. This includes producing and naming a new workflow, attaching one or more triggers required to run the workflow automatically, constructing task steps that sequentially perform the work, and configuring optional error handling, logon and user related properties. Upon completion, the wizard will display a summary of the newly designed workflow and added trigger(s), if any. For easy navigation, the top portion of the Add Workflow Wizard displays the main steps allowing developers to jump to any particular step by simply selecting the step number/name.

To Open the Add workflow Wizard:

  1. From the SMC, select Workflows from the Navigation bar. The side panel then displays the Workflows folder and any sub-folders (if any) are displayed under this folder.

  2. Select the folder in which to create the workflow and click the New button located on the top panel or right-click the desired folder and select New Workflow from the context menu. The Add Workflow Wizard dialog then appears.

The following steps will help guide you through creating a new workflow.

1. Welcome

The Add Workflow Wizard first appears with a welcome screen (as shown below). Here, you can enter a unique name for the workflow in the provided text-box. Those who are more experienced with workflow creation may no longer need the wizard to guide them. In such cases, the Add Workflow Wizard can be disabled in the future by enabling the option In the future, do not use this wizard. The wizard contains 4 steps with the current step being highlighted for easy navigation. Click Next to proceed.

2.1 Select a triggering condition

The next screen allows you to select one or more events or conditions in which to start the workflow automatically. See Events and Conditions for more details. Double-click the desired event/condition to display its properties. Enter the desired properties and click Next.

NOTE: Non-licensed events and conditions will appear opaque. Selecting an unlicensed object will generate an error. For more on licensing individual objects, see Licenses.

 

2.2 summary of triggering conditions

After entering the settings for a particular event/condition and clicking Next, the newly created condition and its properties will be displayed (as shown below). Here, you can enter the desired name for the condition. To add another triggering event/condition click Add. To edit or remove an existing event/condition, highlight it and click Edit or Remove. Click Next to proceed.

3.1 Task Setup

The next screen enables you to add steps to your task (as shown below). Click Run Task Builder to open the Task Builder interface. See Task Builder for more details. Upon completing your task, click Save and Close to save changes, close Task Builder and return back to the wizard. If you need additional help or would like to learn more about a specific subject, find helpful tips or sample tasks, click the Visit AutoMate User Resource Center link. Click Next to continue.

3.2 Logon Options

The next screen allows you to select the logon options for the task (as shown below). Here, you can choose what the task should do incase the workstation is locked or logged off during runtime. For more details regarding logon options, see Default Task Properties - Logon. After entering the desired parameters, click Next to proceed.

4. Review

The final screen will display the properties of your workflow, including workflow name, task steps and triggering conditions (as shown below). Here, you can review the contents of your workflow and make any final changes. To navigate to a previous step, click the Back button until you reach the desired step or select the appropriate step number/title that appears on the blue bar that runs across the top of the wizard (directly below the title bar). If you wish to run the Workflow Designer to display your newly constructed workflow after completing the wizard, enable the option Run Workflow Designer when finished. Click Save to save the current workflow and close the wizard.

p Back to Top