User Folders

Overview

User accounts provide security to objects and workflow items encompassed in AutoMate BPA Server. The Server Management Console interface contains a centralized user access system, allowing administrators and users with proper permissions the ability to create individual users, assign each user to one or more groups, and grant specific permissions for each user/group.

User folders can now be implemented to provide finer grained control over access to AutoMate BPA Server resources and significantly increase the overall management and organization of all repository data.

Description

User folders are generated along with every user created. A user's folder is intended to contain all objects created by a particular user, such as tasks, workflows, events, conditions, etc., and can be organized further with the use of sub-folders. The default names of user folders match the names of their respective owners and appear in the Workflows and Repository sections of Server Management Console as well as the Repository section located in the Objects/Repository panel of Workflow Designer.

When a user creates an object, it is automatically saved to that user's folder. User folders are distinguished by an overlaid user icon. The image below shows an example of user folders as they would appear in Server Management Console's Workflows section.

 

 

Benefits

The contents of a user's folder are protected by AutoMate BPA Server's file system permissions, and by default, are accessible only by their respective owner and the administrator. Only they have complete control in terms of being able to read, write, modify or execute the resource. However, any other user can have authority to access any protected folders in the repository, including other users' folders, as long as he/she has been granted appropriate privileges. Only an administrator or user with administrator rights will have the capability to set the level of access that one user has to the content of another user.

User folders provide a means for administrators to better manage and organize user content. Separating user data from repository-wide data avoids redundancy and makes backups of important objects relatively simple.