Viewing & Modifying Remote Preferences

When a connection is successfully established between the local Task Administrator and remote AutoMate installation (or Runtime component), the Task Administrator interface becomes populated with any remote tasks. Remote preferences can be viewed or modified via the Task Administrator in the same manner as viewing/modifying local system preferences. Other remote operations include backup/restoration of remote tasks and preferences and the option to enable/disable remote task triggering. You can switch back and forth from the local AutoMate client and various remote clients by simply clicking the corresponding computer or folder icon on the Task Folders pane. For more details regarding remote connection, see Connecting to Remote Machines.

Accessing Remote System Preferences

Upon connection to a remote AutoMate client, system preferences relative to the remote machine can be accessed. Modifications to any preferences occur on the remote machine. However, when editing preferences that specify a drive location (i.e. the Default managed task location parameter located in the System tab or the Location of logging parameter found in the Logging tab) the Explorer window that comes into view reflects the local machine's drive. In such cases, be sure to enter the drive location relative to the remote machine.

To view/edit remote system preferences:

  1. From the Task Administrator, establish a connection to the remote AutoMate client or select a currently connected client from the Task Folders pane.

  2. Select the System menu and navigate to Options.

The Options dialog window that appears will include the host name, computer name or IP address of the remote machine confirming that the remote machine's system preferences are being viewed (as shown below). Any changes made to system preferences at this time will reflect the remote machine’s system preferences. For more details about setting system options, see Configuring AutoMate.

Enabling/Disabling remote task triggering

In addition to modifying remote preferences, task triggering can be enabled/disabled once connected to a remote AutoMate client. This can be accomplished by selecting the System menu and adding a check to the Enable Task Triggering option to enable remote triggering or removing a check to disable remote triggering. Task triggering is enabled by default.

Backing up or restoring a remote Automate client

The Backup and Restore function can be performed on a remote AutoMate client. Once remote connection is established, select System -> Backup to backup a remote client or select System -> Restore to restore a previous backup. A properties dialog box will appear during either the backup or restore process which will include the host name, computer name or IP address of the remote machine verifying that the procedure is being carried out on the remote machine. Follow instructions found in Backup and Restore AutoMate Data to complete the backup/restore process.

See Also

Enabling Remote Administration

Connecting to Remote Machines

Deploying Task Remotely

Managing Tasks Remotely

Viewing Events Logged Remotely (Premium Edition)