Task Builder General Preferences

The Task Builder General preferences control how tasks are displayed in the Steps pane. This includes the indentation, word wrapping, icons, and  error description. It also dictates specific operations such as whether the last task should be reopened the next time the Task Builder is open or whether double-clicking an action/activity from the Available Actions pane should automatically add it to the end of the task.

Parameters

Property

Description

Reopen last task

If enabled, automatically re-opens the task that was last open in the Task Builder. If multiple tasks are open when Task Builder is closed, the active/selected task is the one that will re-open. This option works only when the Task Builder is started manually from the Start menu. The last task is never opened when Task Builder is started for a managed task through Task Administrator. This option is disabled by default.

Double-clicking adds to end of task

If enabled, double-clicking an action from the Available Actions pane adds the new step to the end of the task. If this is not enabled, the step is inserted above the currently selected step. In either case, a new step can be inserted at a desired position by dragging an action from the Available Actions pane into the position. This option is enabled by default.

Show dialogs for actions that have no parameters.

If enabled, a dialog will appear for actions that gave no parameters.

Default Task Location

Indicates the default location that an unmanaged task should be saved to. This location can vary depending on the operating system. By default, tasks are saved to a location accessible by the user that initially installed the program. This location is different from the default managed task location. See Managed & Unmanaged Tasks for more details.

NOTE: If specifying a network location as the default task location, it is critical that mapped drive letters not be used. Folders should always be specified using UNC (Universal Naming Convention) paths. For example: X:\pathname\ should be \\servername\pathname\. This is because mapped drives are available only when a user logs on and this does not occur for LocalSystem services.

Icons

This option controls the identifying icons displayed next to each step in the Steps pane. The available options are:

  • Small icons (default): Small icons (16x16) will appear next to each step.

  • Large icons: Large icons (32 x 32) will appear next to each step.

  • No Icons: No icons will appear next to each step.

Include error handling descriptions

 

Controls when the visual view in the Steps pane displays descriptive text about each step's error handling along with descriptive text about the step itself. Every AutoMate step performs default error handling if the step fails. Select from the following:

  • Only when different from default (default): Appends descriptive text about the step's error handling only when an error handling option has been set that is different from the default. This will cause the error description to be omitted in the majority of cases because the default error handling is sufficient for most steps.

  • Always: Always appends the error handling description to each step. This can cause extra, redundant text to be displayed in the Steps pane.

  • Never: Never appends the error handling description. The error handling can only be viewed by opening the properties dialog box for the step.

Interface

The Task Builder interface that should be displayed. The available options are:

  • Use Ribbon Interface (default): AutoMate Task Builder will display the new Ribbon interface.

  • Use Menu/Toolbar Interface: AutoMate Task Builder will display the menu/toolbar interface used in legacy versions.

See Also

Task Builder Debug Toolbar Preferences

Task Builder Font Preferences

Task Builder Formatting Preferences

Task Builder General Preferences