General Options

Description

Contains preferences that reflect certain behavior and determine the overall "look and feel" of the AutoMate Task Administrator interface. Preferences include whether to play a sound on task failure, whether to use the Wizard when creating a new task and whether a pop-up warning dialog should appear when deleting a task.

Parameters

Property

Description

Double-clicking a task will

Specifies what will happen if you double-click on a task in the Task Administrator:

  • Show it's properties - Display the properties of the task.

  • Edit its steps - Opens the Task Builder to modify the steps of the task.

  • Run it - Launches the task.

Remove task file on delete

When a new managed task is created, AutoMate automatically generates an associated task file on the system where the task steps are stored. When a managed task is deleted, the associated task file can optionally be left on the system to be used later by another managed task.  This option sets the default action when a managed task is to be deleted:

  • Prompt - A prompt will ask the user whether to remove the associated task file.

  • Always - Always remove the associated task file (no prompt will appear).

  • Never - Never remove the associated task file (no prompt will appear).

Export blank task with broken link

When exporting a task, the task steps are usually embedded within the exported managed task. A broken link is a managed task that cannot find it's associated task file. This can happen if the task file once associated with the managed task has been removed or deleted manually. This option sets whether AutoMate should allow the task to be exported with blank steps, or simply refuse to export the task. The available options are:

  • Prompt - A prompt will ask the user whether or not to continue exporting the task with blank steps.

  • Always - Always export the task with blank steps (no prompt will appear).

  • Never - Never export a task if the task file cannot be found (no prompt will appear).

Use wizard when creating new tasks

If enabled, AutoMate will present the Add Task Wizard when clicking the New button on the toolbar or the File -> New menu option. The Add Task Wizard provides a step-by-step means of creating a new AutoMate Managed Task. When not selected, AutoMate creates a task with a default name (usually "New Managed Task") with default properties. The task can then be further configured by viewing its properties. This parameter is enabled by default.

Confirm on managed task delete

If enabled, AutoMate displays a confirmation dialog each time the user attempts to delete a managed task. When not selected, tasks are deleted immediately (with no prompt appearing). Once a managed task is deleted, it cannot be recovered. The task can usually be re-imported, however, if the task file associated with the managed task was left on the system. See Importing Tasks for more details. This parameter is enabled by default.

Show full file path in filename column

When the filename column is selected as a viewable column and the task display is in Detail mode, this option determines whether the full path to the Task File is displayed. If not selected, only the name of the Task File is displayed. This parameter is disabled by default.

Show error window when Task Administrator window is open

If a Managed Task fails at runtime and the Task Administrator is open, a dialog displaying information relevant to the error (such as the task name, step number, error, etc) can be displayed. Errors are always logged to the log file as set in Logging Options regardless of this option setting. This parameter is enabled by default.

Play sound on task failure

If this option is enabled and a running task fails to run correctly while the Task Administrator is open, the sound file specified is played. The sound file must be a valid .wav file. If this option is not selected, no sound is played. This parameter is enabled by default.

New tasks use elevated privileges

In Windows Vista and Windows 7, when User Access Control (UAC) is enabled, a task requires administrator privileges in order to run. If this option is enabled, newly created tasks will automatically run with elevated privileges. (This parameter is disabled by default).

See Also:

Importing Tasks

Logging Options