Preferences

Description

Contains preferences that determines the overall "look and feel" of the Task Administrator interface. Preferences include whether to play a sound on task failure, whether to use the Add Task Wizard when creating a new task and whether a pop-up warning dialog should appear when deleting a task.

To access the Preferences page, from Task Administrator, go to Options -> Preferences.

Related Topics

Parameters

Property

Description

Double-clicking a task will

Specifies what action should be accomplished when a user double-clicks a task in the Task Administrator. The available options are:

  • Show its properties (default) - Display the properties of the task. See Managed Task Properties for more details.

  • Edit its steps - Opens the Task Builder in order to edit the steps of the task.

  • Run it - Launches the task.

Remove task file on delete

Upon creation of a new managed task, an associated task (.aml) file is generated on the system which stores the task steps and trigger information (if any). When a managed task is deleted, the associated task file can be deleted or left on the system to be used later by another managed task. This preference sets the default action when a managed task is to be deleted. The available options are:

  • Prompt (default) - A prompt will appear asking the user whether or not to delete the associated task file.

  • Always - Always remove the associated task file (no prompt will appear).

  • Never - Never remove the associated task file (no prompt will appear).

Exporting blank task with broken link

When exporting a task, the task steps are usually embedded within the exported managed task. A broken link is a managed task that cannot find its associated task file. This can happen if the task file once associated with the managed task has been removed or deleted manually. This preference sets the default action when a task to be exported with blank steps. The available options are:

  • Prompt (default) - A prompt will appear asking the user whether or not to continue exporting the task with blank steps.

  • Always - Always export a task with blank steps (no prompt will appear).

  • Never - Never export a task if the associated task file cannot be found (no prompt will appear).

Default connection

Sets the default connection upon startup. If remote connections are available via Remote Administration, this preference displays the localhost (local computer) along with a list of remote hosts in which to select from. If no remote connections are available, this defaults to localhost.

Language (requires restart)

The default language for this AutoMate installation. Any changes made requires an AutoMate restart. The default value is System default.

Use wizard when creating new tasks

If enabled, AutoMate will present the Add Task Wizard when clicking the New button on the Task Administrator's header. The Add Task Wizard provides a step-by-step means of creating a new AutoMate Managed Task. If disabled, the Add Task Wizard does not appear. Instead, AutoMate creates a task with a default name (usually "New Managed Task") with default properties. The task can then be further configured by editing its properties. This preference is enabled by default.

Confirm on managed task delete

If enabled, each time an attempt to delete a managed task occurs a prompt will appear confirming the action. If disabled, tasks are deleted immediately (with no prompt appearing). This preference is enabled by default.

NOTE: Once a managed task is deleted, it cannot be recovered. The task can usually be re-imported, however, if the task file associated with the managed task was left on the system. See Importing Tasks for more details.

Show full file path in filename column

If enabled, when the filename column is selected as a viewable column and the task display is in Detail mode, this preference determines whether the full path to the task file is displayed. If disabled, only the name of the task file is displayed. This parameter is disabled by default.

Show error window when Task Administrator window is open

If a Managed Task fails during runtime and the Task Administrator is open, enabling this preference displays a dialog with information relevant to the error that occurred (such as the task name, step number, error, etc). If disabled, no dialog is displayed. This preference is enabled by default.

NOTE: Errors are always logged to the log file as set in Log Management regardless of whether this preference is enabled or disabled.

Play sound on task failure

If enabled and a running task fails to run correctly while the Task Administrator is open, the sound file specified is played. The path and filename of the default error sound file is 'C:\Program Files (x86)\AutoMate 10\error.wav.' Click the folder icon to navigate to an alternate sound file or enter the its path and filename in the provided text box. The sound file must be a valid .wav file. If disabled, no sound is played. This parameter is enabled by default.

New tasks use elevated privileges

In Windows Vista and Windows 7, when User Access Control (UAC) is enabled, a task requires administrator privileges in order to run. If this preference is enabled, newly created tasks will automatically run with elevated privileges. If disabled, newly created tasks do not run with elevated privileges. This preference is disabled by default.

Show alternating colored rows in grid view

If enabled, rows will display alternate colors in grid view. If disabled, rows will display a single color. This option is enabled by default.